Outlook 2010 sync “SharePoint List cannot be found.”

Ran into a funny problem today and decided to blog about it, since I spent so much time with it. A user came to me today saying he couldn’t get the “Connect to Outlook” sync working with a couple discussion boards we have. Turns out the folders that he has are there, but no posts are coming through. I found this lovely error in the Send/Receive Progress Errors:

! “Task “SharePoint reported error (0x8004010F): ‘The SharePoint List (site collection -subsite – discussion board) cannot be found. If the problem continues, contact the SharePoint site administrator. HTTP 404.”

Reason:
The password was recently changed, and the password that is stored in Outlook for SharePoint doesn’t match the current one. Therefore the list cannot be found per say, it’s just cannot be accessed.

I figured out the fix in a couple hours:
There is a .pst file that stores all your SharePoint List information for Outlook.

  • Delete the SharePoint List folders in Outlook.
  • Close and logoff of Outlook
  • Navigate to C:/Users/<username>/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Outlook
  • Delete the “SharePoint List.pst”
  • Reconnect with all your SharePoint Lists!

This solution saved me some headache when I figured it out and I hope this solution saves you some more headache. I’ve had a couple blogs rave that the solution in running the command “net stop sens” on the local computer, but I’ll just leave this here in case my solution doesn’t work for you.

13 thoughts on “Outlook 2010 sync “SharePoint List cannot be found.”

    • You can go to the SharePoint list, that is click the webpart header to navigate to ../Lists//AllItems.aspx that you are trying to reconnect with:

      Actions -> Connect to Outlook (2007)

      “Library” tab under Library Tools -> Connect to Outlook (2010)

      There will be a popup that comes up when you have Outlook open, Click Yes and you should be seeing posts!

  1. Thank you this has been annoying me for a little while but havent had time, till now, to figure it out.

  2. Followed your advice, which was a little challenging initially, as I’ve never had to locate the SharePoint Lists .pst file – but after a little looking around, and other forum posts on the web, I managed to overcome this issue – BTW, I never delete files of which I’m not sure of their significance – so I changed the file to filename.old, just in case there was a reason to restore it, and try something else!

    • SharePointLists.pst is just your holding place for the content that that Sharepoint downloads and caches for each of the lists/libraries that you have sync’d to your outlook. When you delete it, SharePoint will take notice and just download the content to a new .pst file. Glad to be of help!

  3. I am also facing the same issue, I have a little concern over this method which is described above, reason my sharepoint pst file is almost greater than 5 GB, once i delet the sharepoint list file it will again take time do download this much of content, can you please suggest to change the password without deleting the whole pst.

    Regards – Umair

    • You have the ability to change the password, if the password is your issue. Go to Outlook, File-> Info -> Account Settings -> Account Settings… -> Data Files -> Highlight “SharePoint Lists.pst” -> Settings… -> Change Password…

      Here you can change your password to when it’s current password and you can retain your content.

  4. […] Outlook 2010 sync “SharePoint List cannot be found … – Followed your advice, which was a little challenging initially, as I’ve never had to locate the SharePoint Lists .pst file – but after a little looking around, and other forum posts on the web, I managed to overcome this issue – BTW, I never delete files of which I’m not sure … […]

Leave a comment